GET REAL

Donna's blog on coaching, leadership, and life

Small, small steps

I’ve wanted to learn Italian for as long as I can remember. As a child it was the language my parents and aunts and uncles used if they didn’t want me to know what they were talking about. I could sometimes pick up the gist of a conversation, but that was as far it ever went. As an adult, I’ve had little reason or opportunity to hear or learn the language. But I’ve always loved the language and I’ve maintained the desire to learn it. I must have mentioned it more than once, because I just received the Rosetta Stone language-learning series from my family for my birthday. I was delighted. Rosetta Stone claims it’s the fastest way to learn a language. Guaranteed!

So I’m on a journey to learn something new—to do something I’ve wanted to do for as long as I can remember. I mention it here because one of the first things I thought of after my initial excitement subsided, was, Where in the world will I find the time to devote to this?

Then I realized that I find the time to devote to my business and work for my clients. I set aside time to volunteer. And when I find the time to spend with family and friends, or do something for me, it’s always worth the effort. So I’m going to find the time, in small bites, to accomplish this goal.

So there’s the message I want to share today. Take it easy. Take it in small, manageable steps because even the smallest steps will undoubtedly move you forward.

I’m psyched. Ciao!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

