GET REAL

Donna's blog on coaching, leadership, and life

I love my job.

While sitting at my desk a few days ago, LinkedIn was up on my screen and I suddenly felt gratitude for my job. My first impulse was to post it as a status update, but as I was writing, ”I love my job…” here’s the self-talk that stopped me in my tracks: This isn’t Facebook! This isn’t the kind of thing you post on a professional networking site. If you post it, there’ll be some who are not as fortunate as you are to love their jobs and they might find it depressing or boastful. There may be others who think you posted it to market yourself, and others who may simply find it trivial.

I backspaced until my declaration vanished.

I’ve reflected on this interesting moment of self-doubt a few times since. I’m thinking that we’ve been raised in a culture where it’s way more acceptable to talk about challenges than it is to talk about our successes or good fortune. I’m thinking that professional formalities sometimes chip at a person’s ability to be real and in the moment.

So in the spirit of celebrating good fortune and “Getting Real”, let me share this with you: I love my job. I hope you do too. If you don’t love your job today or this week, but you do in general, hang in there, because this too shall pass. If you don’t love your job, ever, I hope you find another job—or two jobs if you have to—that you do love. And if that feels impossible at the moment, I hope you’ll begin dreaming about what you want, and exploring your options, because it’ll be a first step in the right direction.

Prolonged happiness or unhappiness at work affects our personal well-being. And our personal well-being affects everything that matters.

1 Comment»

  Sandra Nucelli wrote @

Bravo. I feel the same way but it doesn’t come easily for some people, at least in my experience. I t has been my experience tha, initially, it takes reinforcing self speak. Remind yourself, and your confidence and happiness radiate around and to others. Usually it is the “others” than make our jobs less enjoyable. Always remember, that to someone else, you may be the “others”!


Leave a Reply

