GET REAL

Donna's blog on coaching, leadership, and life

A few more lessons learned….

It’s been a couple of years since I posted “A few lessons learned…”. Based on an additional two years of experience with clients, colleagues, and business in general, I thought I’d share, in no particular order, a few more lessons that I’ve learned or revisited:

– I’ve learned that an organization’s profitability does not necessarily reflect strong leadership or sustainable success.
– I’ve learned that when we expect others to act and think just as we would act and think, we create immediate barriers to effective communication.
– I’ve learned that judging others is a fruitless exercise.
– I’ve learned that true colleagues don’t compete. They collaborate and celebrate each other’s successes.
– I’ve learned that strategy often takes a back seat to crisis management, yet strategy is necessary to minimize crises.
– I’ve learned that a leader who explores his/her own responsibility for poor employee morale is a real gem.
– I’ve learned that great things can be accomplished when contributors are focused on a clear common goal.
– I’ve learned that nothing matches the power behind an individual’s genuine quest to succeed.
– I’ve learned that young and seasoned professionals have a great deal to learn from each other.
– I’ve learned that too many simultaneous initiatives, however well-intentioned, can stifle an organization’s progress.
– I’ve learned that life balance is becoming more of a priority and a value that individuals are looking for when choosing their employers.
– I’ve learned that nothing grows one’s own success like helping someone else be successful.
– And last, but not least, I’ve learned that integrity still matters….a lot.

Do you have any lessons learned that you’d like to share?

Peaceful Holidays to you and yours!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

