GET REAL

Donna's blog on coaching, leadership, and life

A teen offers a few words of wisdom.

I married quite young, as did my son. So today, I’m fortunate to be enjoying an awesome relationship with my 14-year-old granddaughter. In addition to her being dear to me, I find I’m often learning from her view of life.

This is a gem that she gave me the other day that I immediately related to the workplace, so I thought I’d share it with you. I’d be interested in your thoughts and experiences.

We were talking about her JV Volleyball team’s discouraging losing streak. When I asked her how she felt about it she told me that she didn’t think that she and her teammates were bad players, but she thinks the “drama” and talking behind each other’s backs is why they’re having such a tough season.

She finished by simply stating: “I think we’re not winning because we’re not really a team.”

Like I said…a gem.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

