GET REAL

Donna's blog on coaching, leadership, and life

Creative or strategic energy blocked??

Urgh! I’m struggling with writer’s block! I tried to produce for most of the morning and finally gave myself the permission to let it go. I told myself that maybe tomorrow it’ll be different. It was then that I was reminded of a very brief entry I posted here almost 8 years ago. So, I thought at the very least I would share that with you. The post is centered on having a block relating to strategy or problem solving, but it relates well to creative blocks too. So here you go . . .

It may be clearer tomorrow.

Posted: July 30, 2008 at 11:00 pm

It may be clearer tomorrow. I’ve been using this statement lately as permission to reduce my stress level when I find myself either overwhelmed or confused about a convoluted problem, or a strategy that needs to be fine-tuned, or having to wordsmith a communication that may be delicate in nature. If it’s possible to hold off action for another day or two—I do.

Struggling to make sense of something when stressed or stumped rarely is productive. If by chance, you have the luxury of letting go of the problem for one more day, you may find that indeed it may be clearer tomorrow. A conversation may take place, additional information may be gleaned, or perhaps you simply relax more, which may help clear your strategic lens.

Use this simple and effective tool yourself, or share it with someone who might appreciate the permission to let go of a problem for a day or two.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

